Do you accept the use of cookies to ensure a better experience on our website?

Find out more
About us

Objectives / Tasks

The Autonomous Port of Charleroi has been tasked by the Walloon Region to help develop economic activities linked to the waterway and therefore create jobs.

Its role is to promote intermodality by making optimum use of all the port sites located along the waterway by granting concessions on them to businesses. It must develop, equip, manage and run the land entrusted to it.

The Autonomous Port of Charleroi is making investments to improve its infrastructures. Between 2015 and 2020, 5 million euros in regional subsidies and close to 14 million in European subsidies (ERDF) will have been invested in developing the land. In addition, 5 million euros in regional subsidies should be invested for the period 2020-2025.

The concessions are granted as a matter of priority to businesses linked to the waterway and to logistics. Prospective concessionaires also have the possibility of asking for an option on a plot of land. This option assures the candidate a priority in the event of a competitive procedure.

In 2018, at PAC level, the waterway predominantly transported minerals and building materials (57%) and metallurgical products (19%)

The autonomous Port also has a stake in two companies: SEDISOL and Charleroi Dry Port (CDP).

SEDISOL is a treatment and recycling centre for products of dredging. PAC’s shareholding is 25% (SPAQuE 25% - Ecoterres 50%). The centre has a treatment capacity of more than 300,000 tonnes a year! This capacity is unique in Europe, making SEDISOL an important player in the treatment of products of dredging.

CDP also manages the Charleroi transshipment terminal, bringing together road, rail and water transport for effective delivery of goods and containers. In 2016, 10,000 semi-trailers were handled on the site, which represents 13,000,000 km/trucks transferred from road to rail. This terminal is integrated within a logistics site of almost 90 ha.

Interactive map

Discover the 500 hectares of the port

Find out more

Acceptez-vous l'utilisation de cookies pour vous assurer une meilleure expérience sur notre site web ?

En savoir plus
Nous connaître

Objectifs / missions

Le Port Autonome de Charleroi a reçu pour mission, de la Région wallonne, de participer au développement d’activités économiques liées à la voie d’eau et par conséquent, à la création d’emplois.

Son rôle est de favoriser l’intermodalité en utilisant de manière optimale tous les sites portuaires situés le long de la voie d’eau en les concédant à des entreprises. Il doit aménager, équiper, gérer et exploiter les terrains qui lui sont confiés.

Le Port Autonome de Charleroi réalise des investissements pour améliorer ses infrastructures. Entre 2015 et 2020, 5 millions d’euros de subsides régionaux et près 14 millions de subsides européens (FEDER) auront été investis en aménagements de terrains. De plus, 5 millions d’euros de subsides régionaux devraient être investis pour la période 2020-2025.

Les concessions sont prioritairement octroyées aux entreprises liées à la voie d’eau et à la logistique. Le candidat concessionnaire a également la possibilité de demander une option sur un terrain. Cette option assure au candidat une priorité en cas de mise en concurrence.

En 2018, la voie d’eau a transporté majoritairement, au niveau du PAC, des minéraux et matériaux de construction (57%) et des produits métallurgiques (19%)

Le Port autonome dispose également d’une participation dans deux entreprises : SEDISOL et Charleroi Dry Port (CDP).

SEDISOL est un centre de traitement et de recyclage des produits de dragage. L’actionnariat du PAC s’élève à 25% (SPAQuE 25% - Ecoterres 50%). Le centre présente une capacité de traitement de plus de 300 000 tonnes par an ! Une capacité unique en Europe qui fait de SEDISOL un acteur important dans le domaine du traitement des produits de dragage.

CDP gère également le terminal de transbordement de Charleroi. Il réunit les transports routiers, ferroviaires et fluviaux pour un acheminement efficace des marchandises en conteneurs. En 2016, 10.000 semi-remorques ont été manipulés sur le site ce qui représente 13.000.000 km/camions transférés de la route vers le rail. Ce terminal s’intègre dans un site logistique de près de 90ha.

carte interactive

Découvrez les 500 hectares du port

En savoir plus