Do you accept the use of cookies to ensure a better experience on our website?

Find out more
About us

The port within Charleroi Metropole

Ecologically pertinent and economically viable, water transport activity must continue its development in coordination with that of Charleroi Metropole and its 29 communes. The plots of land made available by the port as well the use of the waterways are all set to progress.

The Charleroi region is no longer the industrial region it once was. The port no longer needs to rely on the tonnages from the extractive, metallurgical and glass industries alone in order to develop the important heritage it has been tasked with managing. Diversifications have already taken place, but continued efforts are needed, particularly with the objective of multimodality.

New goods flows are appearing. Today, at PAC level, the waterway predominantly transports minerals and building materials and metallurgical products.

With the areas of land available, the PAC can meet the market needs of the future.

Also, the PAC must project its activity into a strategic vision for 2050, in order to propose a modal alternative adapted to its environment and a creator of activity.

Beyond the vision, the forces of the Autonomous Port of Charleroi will be used primarily for players involved in multimodal transport – particularly by water – to achieve concrete results while being acknowledged as a player in local – particularly urban – development (amenities such as pleasure craft moorings, quays, etc.).

Interactive map

Discover the 500 hectares of the port

Find out more

Acceptez-vous l'utilisation de cookies pour vous assurer une meilleure expérience sur notre site web ?

En savoir plus
Nous connaître

Le Port dans Charleroi Métropole

Écologiquement pertinente et économiquement viable, l’activité du transport fluvial doit poursuivre son développement en coordination avec celui de Charleroi métropole et ses 29 communes. Les terrains mis à disposition par le port, ainsi que la fréquentation des voies navigables sont amenés à progresser.

La région de Charleroi n’est plus la région industrielle qu’elle a été. Le port ne doit plus compter sur les seuls tonnages issus des industries extractives, métallurgiques, verrières, pour valoriser l’important patrimoine qui lui a été remis en gestion. Des diversifications ont déjà été opérées, mais l’effort est à poursuivre, notamment dans un objectif de multimodalité.

De nouveaux flux de marchandises apparaissent. Aujourd’hui la voie d’eau transporte majoritairement, au niveau du PAC, des minéraux et matériaux de construction et produits métallurgiques.

Avec les superficies disponibles, le PAC peut répondre aux marchés à venir.

Aussi, le PAC doit projeter son activité dans une vision stratégique à l’horizon 2050 et ce, afin de proposer une alternative modale adaptée à son environnement et créatrice d’activité.

Au-delà de la vision, les forces du port autonome de Charleroi seront prioritairement mises au service des acteurs de la multimodalité, notamment du fluvial pour des réalisations concrètes tout en s’inscrivant comme acteur dans le développement local notamment urbanistique (aménagement du relais nautique, de quais…).

carte interactive

Découvrez les 500 hectares du port

En savoir plus